2023 GSIP Website Header

GSIP 2023 Final Day Program

We are thrilled to showcase summer research conducted by 25 GSIP and Berea interns in our 2023 Final Day Program on August 2, from 1 to 4:30 PM, in the Anschutz Health Sciences Building’s Elliman Conference Center at the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus!

The program will also feature our 2023 Grant Family Distinguished Lecturer, V. Michael Holers, MD.

Dr. Holers is a Professor of Medicine and Immunology and the Scoville Professor of Rheumatology. He is also the Head of the Division of Rheumatology, and the Director of Faculty Ventures for CU Innovations. Additionally, he has co-founded the biotechnology start-up, Taligen Therapeutics.

The GSIP team,

Joseph A. Brzezinski IV, Ph.D., Program Co-Director
Jill T. Cowperthwaite, Program Co-Director
Jane Rech, Ph.D., Program Coordinator
Debbie T. Lopez, Program Associate

GSIP Interns

NameUndergraduate InstitutionUndergraduate MajorGSIP Mentor
Blake BarronDavidson CollegeBiologyRam Nagaraj, PhD
Catherine BatesUniversity of Colorado BoulderIntegrative PhysiologyRussell Marians, PhD
Ilana BaumOccidental CollegeBiochemistryMichael Alberti, MD, PhD
Yifei ChenJohns Hopkins UniversityMolecular Cellular Biology and Public Health StudiesRonald Vagnozzi, PhD
Anna GartnerWake Forest UniversityChemistryNicholas Jacobson, MDes
Amelia GrosskopfMiddlebury CollegeMolecular Biology and BiochemistryMaria Natalia Vergara, PhD
Mary HowellDavidson CollegeBiologyLori Sussel, PhD
Kanita HrustanovicColorado State UniversityBiomedical and Chemical and Biological EngineeringMi-Hyun Nam, PhD
Leia JiangUniversity of Texas at AustinBiomedical EngineeringMiguel Flores-Bellver, PhD
Julia JohnsonMiddlebury CollegeMolecular Biology and BiochemistryDaniel Sherbenou, MD, PhD
Oreoluwa LadeleBerea CollegeBiologyXiying Fan, PhD
Taylor LaValleyMiami UniversityBiomedical EngineeringKristen Boyle, PhD
Bailey LeaphartDavidson CollegeBiologyLori Walker, PhD
Andrew LuWashington University in St. LouisBiologyChelsea Magin, PhD
Jeevan MannThe University of California, DavisBiological PsychologyGanna Bilousova, PhD
Amanda MorrisUniversity of Colorado DenverPsychology and MathematicsBruce Appel, PhD
Anna PocsiUniversity of Colorado BoulderIntegrative PhysiologyJeffrey Jacot, PhD
McKinley RumpUniversity of Colorado BoulderIntegrative PhysiologyEric Pietras, PhD
Aiman SabaawyCornell UniversityBiological SciencesSantos Franco, PhD
Haley SaxHobart and William Smith CollegesBiochemistryJennifer Richer, PhD, MS
Ananya TalankiEmory UniversityNeuroscience and Behavioral BiologyGana (Dash) Batt, PhD
Zebulon TrovingerUniversity of Colorado BoulderMolecular Cellular and Developmental BiologyJoseph Brzezinski, PhD
Emily XieUniversity of California, BerkeleyMicrobial BiologyKarin Payne, PhD


Berea Interns

NameUndergraduate InstitutionUndergraduate MajorMentor
Jennan LahamerBerea CollegeBiologyXiying Fan, PhD
Aikhan TugambekovaBerea CollegeBiologyIgor Kogut, PhD


M Holer - GSIP Final Day

The Gates Institute is proud to present the third Grant Family Distinguished Lectureship and to welcome Michael Holers, MD, Professor of Medicine and Immunology and the Scoville Professor of Rheumatology, as this year’s Grant Family Distinguished Lecturer. This lecture is held annually in honor of Peter and Rhondda Grant, whose generosity and enthusiasm fueled the development and growth of this program. 

CU Innovations 2019 Innovator Spotlight on Michael Holers


Final Day Schedule

1:00 - 2:00 pmGrant Family Distinguished Lecture
2:15 - 3:15 pm

Intern Poster Presentation (Session 1)

3:15 - 4:15 pmIntern Poster Presentation (Session 2)
4:15 - 4:30 pmAwards & Acknowledgments

All events will be held in the Donald M Elliman Conference Center, 2nd floor, Anschutz Health Sciences Building,1890 N Revere Ct, Aurora, CO 80045.


GSIP gratefully acknowledges all individuals, foundations and organizations for their support and contributions to the mission of this program. We would like to thank the following benefactors, whose support made the 2022 Gates Summer Internship Program possible:

Rhondda and Peter Grant

AVITA Medical

The Bawmann Group

Jill T. Cowperthwaite & Charles P. Jones

Yvette & Chris Frampton

Davidson College

The Glendorn Foundation

Deborah Froeb and Tim Gardner

Joyce & Wayne Hutchens

Illumina Inc.

Allison and Jeff Krebs

Frank & Monty Kugeler

Penelope H. Lewis

Middlebury College

Kelly & Mark Petrash, PhD

Ann & Kevin Reidy

Betty & Dennis Roop, PhD

Matthew B. Seefeldt, PhD

Jane Rech, PhD and Chris Toll

Walter S. Rosenberry, III Charitable Trust

A. Sheffield Tulp

Christina & Willis Wright



Please see our campus parking map here. 

Final Day Program Location:  Donald M. Elliman Conference Center, 2nd floor, Anschutz Health Sciences Building, 1890 N Revere Ct, Aurora, CO 80045. 

Parking: The Vail visitor parking lot is conveniently located across 19th Ave. from the Anschutz Health Sciences Building.

Access to the Anschutz Health Sciences Building:  Please enter the west entrance of the building and head to the 2nd floor. The conference room is on the north side of the building.

If you have additional questions, please email us at gsip@cuanschutz.edu